My baby's first cold

11/09/2014 17:08

 

My four month old daughter came down with a really bad cold last week. It was the first time she had been sick, and it was terrible. I called the pediatrician and he told me to give her baby Tylenol and make sure her nose was suctioned. I had never had to use that turkey baster looking thing on her before, and she screamed as I got all that yucky stuff out of her nose. I slept on the floor by her crib for 2 nights.

The third day her fever was better but she was still congested. I took her to the pediatrician to make she was OK, and he asked me if I was using a humidifier in her room. I have always used a vaporizer, and he told me a cool mist humidifier is much better at easing congestion in babies. It releases a soothing, cool mist that is much easier for babies to tolerate. He also said that cool mist humidifiers emit less bacteria because it is cold water instead of hot, and that vaporizes can cause scalding and minor injuries in babies and toddlers from the hot steam. He said my daughter was fine, and just needed a few days to get over her cold.

As a first time mom, I am so glad that I spoke with my pediatrician about this. I immediately did some research and purchased a cool mist humidifier for my daughter's room, and threw away the vaporizer. She was feeling much better the next day, and I will use the humidifier from now on when she gets sick.

I put my daughter to bed a couple of hours ago, and curled up on the rocking chair for a while to make sure she stayed asleep. I didn't hear any congestion in her nose as she slept soundly, and the quiet hum of the humidifier soothed us both.